Double D Roost3333 Temple Hill Rd, Erwin 37650
A campground with trout fishing and full amenities.
Pattern: Double Irish Chain
Farmhouse Gallery and Gardens121 Covered Bridge Rd, Unicoi 37692
Events and information about visiting the gardens and artist studio can be found at their website below. The farm has old history. In the 1790s, Israel and Gabriel McInturf and four employees ran a gunsmith shop on the property, manufacturing rifles and handguns. The current family acquired the farm in 1960 when Dr. Earl Peterson purchased it. Being a country doctor in the 1950’s and 60’s, Dr. Peterson was often paid by barter with quilts, canned goods, etc., and the Ohio Rose quilt of was one these items. Another reason this particular pattern was chosen is that the home and surrounding area was called Rose Hill community in the mid-1800’s. Dr. Patterson’s daughter, Pat Lynch and her husband, Johnny, raised beef cattle and market hogs on the farm until 1983, when they began alternative farming. Johnny, a wildlife artist, restored the cabins, and designed and built the covered bridge at the entrance to the farm with the help of Kenneth and Dale Gouge and Mark Chatman. When you visit you can also see Johnny’s 1800s style blacksmith shop that he built using logs salvaged from barns in the area.
Pattern: Ohio Rose
Artist: Painted by Johnny Lynch
Scott Strawberry and Tomato Farm652 Scott Road, Unicoi 37692
The quilter of the Flying Dutchman was Mary France Scott born in 1868 She was the daughter of Robert France, a Union Solder in the Tennessee 13th. She and her husband Martin were one of the pioneer families of Washington County. Mrs. Scott is described as strong willed and hard working. The quilt was made like most quilts back then using feed-sacks and old clothing. The lining was made from flour sacks that were bleached. On the back of this quilt you can still read the words “Bluff City Mill”. Wayne Scott, then a Vocational Agriculture teacher, and wife Mary Lou started the farm as a ‘Husband and wife’ operation in 1958. They moved the family from Erwin to the farm in Unicoi and began with 2 acres of strawberries and the goal of sending all five children to college. Employing the children and neighbors, they grew strawberries during summer months and added tomatoes in 1961. The tomato packing house was built in 1964. The farm continued to expand during the 1980’s, growing to 100 acres. The Scott produce can be found in many of the local grocery stores throughout the growing season. The farm continues to be a family operation. Seasonally their is produce for sale at the farm. Their website is:
Pattern: Flying Dutchman
Unicoi County Heritage Museum529 Federal Hatchery Rd, Unicoi 37650
The Crazy Quilt is on the log cabin on the grounds of the Museum. This special spot in Unicoi County is actually home to a few distinct unique attractions, including the federal Fish Hatchery, the Heritage Museum, and the Clinchfield Railroad Museum. The Heritage Museum, housed in a turn-of-the-century home originally built for the Superintendent of the National Fish Hatchery in Erwin, showcases the county’s history in uniquely themed rooms. In its day, it was one of the grandest homes in the Country. The years took a toll, and, by 1982, the stately old house had become dilapidated and almost impossible to heat. The Federal Government ordered its demolition. Mr. Ralph Erwin of the Unicoi County Chamber of Commerce suggested the renovation of the house into a museum and center for community activities. See website for visitor information:
Pattern: Crazy Quilt